Training and events

Appointed Safeguarders have access Continuing Professional Development (CPD) opportunities and associated materials.                     

You can read an update from the CPD group on the development of the CPD calendar (PDF) here.                                 

Current Safeguarder CPD Training Dates

2019/20 and 2020/21

Six requisite training opportunities are now available on a rolling calendar spanning appointment years 2019/20 and 2020/21. The table below details all courses available.

Download further details of your training requirements, course descriptors and facilitator information (PDF).

The 2019/20 calendar of training events is now available for booking.

Please choose two of the six opportunities to attend within the current 2019/20 appointment year. Places can be booked by emailing the team at: safeguarderspanel@children1st.org.uk 

Please note some dates may already be at capacity. If so, the team will contact you to ask for alternative dates to be selected.

Course title Date Location

Using Restorative and Relational Approaches

in Safeguarding

Fri 17 Jan 2020

Ayr

Responding to a Digital Generation

Tues 21 Jan 2020

Thurs 26 Mar 2020

Edinburgh

Dundee

Considerations Around Contact

Sat 21 Sept 2019

Fri 22 Nov 2019

Sat 25 Apr 2020

Edinburgh

Dundee

Glasgow

Understanding Resilience and Protective Factors

Mon 11 Nov 2019

Sat 7 Mar 2020

Mon 20 Apr 2020

Glasgow

Stirling

Edinburgh

Impact of Domestic Abuse on Children

Thurs 5 Sept 2019

Thurs 6 Feb 2020

Edinburgh

Stirling

Safeguarding in a Multicultural Society

Tues 10 Sept 2019

Thurs 10 Oct 2019

Thurs 13 Feb 2020

Ayr

Dundee

Glasgow

Optional learning opportunities

Additional optional learning opportunities will become available throughout the year, details of which will be distributed once confirmed.

Practice Development Events

Court Practice Note and Report Writing workshops took place throughout April and May 2019 across the country. Details of other development opportunities will be communicated when these are confirmed.

External training

The Scottish Child Law Centre provide regular training on children’s rights and the law, which may be of interest to Safeguarders. Find further information on their website. Please note that the Safeguarders Panel Team are not involved in the organisation or administration of these events and will not be in a position to meet any of the associated costs.